RSS

Summertime is Grill time!

04 Jun

To grill or not to grill – is hardly the question!  Summertime = grill time. The question becomes, “What foods haven’t I grilled?” Thinking creatively about grilling begins with looking at vegetables and fruits that aren’t the standard grill fare.  If you have been following my blog, you also know that while I enjoy sharing recipes, I enjoy it even more when they are tasty & easy. So here it is…Stuffed Butternut Squash, Grill Style!

Simple, hearty and ready in less than 1 hour.

Grilled & Stuffed Butternut Squash

 Half a butternut squash lengthwise. Discard seeds and pulp. Brush squash with a marinade. For my marinade I whisked together: 1 T of honey, 1 T brown sugar, 3 T of balsamic vinegar, 2 T of olive oil, 3 T of vegetable oil, salt & pepper to taste.  Generously brush it on the ‘flesh’ side of the squash, letting it marinade while the barbeque heats on medium high. Once hot, I place my squash flesh side down on the grill, keeping the heat on medium and brushing its skin a few times with my left over marinade. 

HINT: Don’t let the flame take bites out of your squash, cook on medium heat, adjusting it for a nice slow cook. It’s done when you press on the skin and it feels soft and the skin appears to have a little wrinkle. 

While the squash is cooking I close the grill and make my rice. Feeling lazy I cooked up Lundberg’s Organic Butternut Squash Risotto. 

HINT: Many of the Lundberg’s ready risotto mixes are gluten-free and they make great fast dinners. We often tote them with some fresh veggies when backpacking as a nice hearty dinner. 

When the squash is finished, stuff each half with the warm rice. I served this dish with a side of fresh sautéed spinach (from the greenhouse) with caramelized red onions and toasted pine nuts.

Enjoy!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Summertime is Grill time!

  1. Katy Harris

    June 16, 2012 at 5:14 pm

    This looks delicious and now I know what to do with my butternut squash that just sits on my counter forever! Thanks SMO:)

     
    • susanmarie

      June 16, 2012 at 6:23 pm

      Wonderful! Enjoy. It is a nice sweet dish betya your boys will love it.

       

Leave a comment